h1

Time for “Long Story Short” and whatnot

December 1, 2007

So… it’s time for the “long story short” conclusion to the story. I found TLC, of course, which is a great place that set me up with an apartment “almost” of my own in their little complex. It’s shared with a roommate, who, at the moment, is a relatively awesome Canadian hockey buff which fucking kicks ass. But, well, the American work-machine is proving itself to be ever-bullshitiful by making sure we never get a free moment to talk with each other. I’m always at work til the wee hours of night (well, just past midnight at the latest), then I sleep ’til 2 or 3 in the afternoon, go to work again, slave away…

My car is hating me. I’ve been delivering pizza for the past several months, since Augustish, and I’ve already through almost two oil changes. Of course, all this time, I’ve had top-grade DSL and a Verizon cell phone I’m paying for, which kicks ass. Rent is only 60-odd bucks a month here, and power is dirt cheap (the only bill I’ve paid so far was about $14). But the crazy workshops and chores really piss me off. I barely have time to maintain and compose my sanity without having to do damn crazy-scheduled workshops and crap. Maybe if they’d put some workshops at midnight or 2am, then I could make it to some, but at 10am? Hells no… I can’t make those.

My bestest friend on the planet, Russell, is looking for a place to live with a roommate, which curioused me. If I could get a decent job, I wouldn’t have to live in this TLC thing anymore. That means no more workshops and chores, no home inspections three times a week, no case manager, no crap. And it wouldn’t be “too” much more expensive than I’m paying now. Well… a better job would be my dream job, a CompUSA techie, paying who-cares-how-much an hour and doing a job I actually can put my mind to. Sure, driving with Pizza Hut is nice and all, but it’s the “other” duties that tick me off, like delivering to the “prison” apartment complex, delivering prank-call orders, putting people on hold (shudder)… stuff like that. I want to work with computers, like I do best. How much is that to ask?

Well, tomorrow afternoon, I’m going to relay just that to the tech manager of CompUSA, BEFORE putting in my umpteenth application. I hope she’s there, and above all, I hope she’s “talkable”. Meanwhile… to bed with me. Long day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

